Skip Navigation

Carroll University creates School of Business and appoints founding dean

On July 1, 2017 Carroll University’s Department of Business, Accounting, and Economics officially became the Carroll University School of Business. As part of the transition, Dr. Steven Bialek was appointed to the position of dean for the school.

“Dr. Bialek brings strong administrative, program development, and fundraising experience to this role, as well as substantial engagement with the Milwaukee-area business community,” said Dr. Joanne Passaro, provost and vice president for academic affairs. “Our shared vision is to develop a school that will be a pillar of excellence at Carroll University, a school known for the quality of its programs and deep engagement in southeastern Wisconsin and beyond.”

In total, seven majors and six minors are offered for undergraduate students, and a graduate level MBA program is also available. Areas of study include accounting, business administration, business economics, finance, management and leadership, marketing, and health care administration. Business programs make up some of Carroll’s largest majors with many students interested in pursuing a major or minor in
a specific area of business. Over the years there has been an increased demand for graduates entering the workforce to have a basic understanding of business principles.

“The opportunity to engage with students, faculty, staff, alumni, and business leaders alike will provide an excellent base for building the School of Business upon the solid foundation already in place,” said Dr. Bialek. “Waukesha County is a leader in the business community, and as the area continues to expand and grow, I look forward to ensuring that Carroll is part of the progress.”

As the need for strong business programs continues to grow, future plans for Carroll’s School of Business will be developed strategically.