Skip Navigation

MCW psychiatry residency programs in northeastern and central Wisconsin receive initial accreditation

The Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) has received initial accreditation for two new psychiatry residency programs in northeastern and central Wisconsin, with a planned start date of July 1, 2017. The northeastern Wisconsin program will train four psychiatry residents per year and the central Wisconsin program will train three psychiatry residents per year, both over a four-year period. Recruitment will begin immediately.

Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Inc., the sponsoring institution, will employ the psychiatry residents and, along with MCW’s Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine, will be responsible for ensuring the programs meet Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education requirements.

There is an acute need for psychiatrists in rural Wisconsin. MCW-Milwaukee offers one of two psychiatry residencies in the state and trains eight new psychiatrists per year in a four-year residency which means 32 residents are in training at any one time. The new residencies will enable MCW to increase psychiatrist production in Wisconsin by more than 40 percent.

Key training sites for the northeastern Wisconsin psychiatry residency include the Milo C. Huempfner Green Bay VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic, Winnebago Mental Health Institute, Wisconsin Resource Center, Bellin Psychiatric Center, and Brown County Community Treatment Center. The Milo C. Huempfner VA Clinic, which is managed by the Milwaukee VA Medical Center, is providing space and infrastructure support for seven of the 16 psychiatry residents in northeastern Wisconsin.

Key training sites for Central Wisconsin Psychiatry Residency include Ministry St. Mary’s Hospital in Rhinelander; Ministry St. Michael’s Hospital in Stevens Point, Wausau, and Wisconsin Rapids; VA Community Based Outpatient Clinics; North Central Health Care; Forrest County Potawatomi Health Care; Wood County Human Services; Portage County Health and Human Services; Bridge Health Clinic in Wausau; and Froedtert Memorial Lutheran Hospital.