Skip Navigation

Scott Flanagan Elected to NAICU Board

Dr. Scott Flanagan, president of Edgewood College, has been elected to the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) Board of Directors. The announcement came in late January at the close of the 2017 NAICU Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

“Dr. Flanagan was elected by his peers to serve because of his expertise and his strategic and thoughtful approach to leadership in higher education,” said NAICU President, Dr. David L. Warren. “He assumes this role at a time of great challenge and opportunity. We are grateful to Dr. Flanagan and to all our Board members for their service to this nation’s students.”

NAICU board members set the association’s agenda on federal higher education policy, encourage support for association priorities and initiatives, and oversee the organization’s financial administration. Members serve three-year terms.

NAICU serves as the unified national voice of private nonprofit higher education. With more than 1,000 member institutions and state-wide associations nationwide, NAICU reflects the diversity of independent higher education in the United States. Since 1976, the association has represented private nonprofit colleges and universities on policy issues with the federal government, such as those affecting student aid, taxation, and government regulation.

Dr. Scott Flanagan became the seventh president of Edgewood College on August 1, 2014.

He has served Edgewood College since 1998, as Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid, Vice President for Planning & Enrollment, interim Chief Financial Officer, and as Executive Vice President. Dr. Flanagan holds a doctorate in Higher Education Management from the University of Pennsylvania, an M.B.A. from the University of Saint Francis, and is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison with an undergraduate degree in political science.

Dr. Flanagan is a native of Weyauwega, Wisconsin and is the son of Mike and Nancy, both retired Wisconsin public school teachers.